The Wonders of Workshops: The Electronic Village Online

I joined TESOL in 2003.  I didn’t learn about the Electronic Village Online (EVO) until 2009. I’m truly sorry it took me  that long to make this discovery, but thinking optimistically, I did make it and now I want to spread the word to others so that they can benefit professionally and personally as I have.

EVO is an ongoing project of TESOL’s CALL-IS (Computer Assisted Language Learning Interest Section). First off, educators in the field of ESL/EFL should know that TESOL membership isn’t required for participation in EVO. These academic sessions are free for all interested people (teachers still in training, maintream teachers working with ESL students, administrators, and more).

At the start of every year, EVO offers 5-week sessions that take the format of a workshop and/ or discussion. The length of the sessions contrasts with the shorter period of the annual TESOL convention.  EVO participants have the opportunity to explore topics in depth and engage in lengthy discussions.

Last year I was fortunate to be a co-moderator for My Video Classroom 2.0. I enjoyed volunteering my time from November through March, and by doing so I gained a new network of professionals, experience with new tools (from wikis to video group conferencing sites), and plenty of ideas for the use of video in language instruction.

This year I won’t be a moderator, but I am toying with the idea of being a participant. My schedule is already quite full, but it’s hard to resist choosing from the amazing list of topics EVO is offering in 2011: Digital Storytelling, Second Life for Language Learning and Community Building, Re-Playing Process Drama, and more.

Registration is this week. Don’t miss out. See the list of EVO 2011 Sessions and register today! Sesions run from January 10 to February 13.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Nina Liakos says:

    I’ve participated in or co-moderated EVO sessions every year since 2006! It truly is a wonderful opportunity to learn and interact with EFL/ESL colleagues from everywhere. This year I’ve signed up for podcasting and we are already forming a vibrant community in our Yahoo Group. My advice to newbies: Don’t wait until the last minute to sign up, because a lot of pre-session chitchat goes on before the actual kickoff, and you start getting to know your fellow participants and moderators.

    1. englishwithjennifer says:

      So true! I’m eager to meet my EVO Second Life colleagues.🙂

  2. Darlene says:

    Hi Jennifer. This is my first year in an EVO session. I have learned to make a blog, wiki, use Skyrocket and hope to learn much more on how to use these tools to teach my students. Thanks for the work you do with all the articles and videos for learning English. I will use some of them for my students to practice their English outside the classroom. My blog is called Lifelong Learner if you want to check it out or add a comment at
    http://darlene-lifelonglearner.blogspot.com/
    It only has one page so far as I need to figure out what and how to put other links on my page.

    1. englishwithjennifer says:

      You are one step ahead of me, Darlene. I confess I don’t even know what Skyrocket is. (I will Google this as soon as I’m done typing this reply!)
      Good luck with your blog. One step at a time, one post at at time. You’ll build it into what you want and need it to be over time. Your readers will help you shape it.

      1. Darlene says:

        Sorry Jennifer it’s called Slide Rocket. Here is the URL: http://www.sliderocket.com/

      2. englishwithjennifer says:

        Okay. Thanks! Quickly looked.
        So it’s basically an ehanced version of PowerPoint? How have you found it useful in your teaching?

Leave a Reply

