Holiday Wishes

Happy Holidays to all those celebrating this week! I will try to get one more post up before December 31. In the meantime, please check out my latest YouTube lesson on the stative passive. I had fun building the lesson around the timely tune of “Auld Lang Syne.” I was also delighted to include a contribution from a musically talented colleague, Pamela Vittorio.  Enjoy!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Regina says:

    Dear Jennifer;
    THank you s much for this excellent tool to teach English. I am an ESL teacher in Venice, Italy and I think one of the best material to help students is your teachings.
    I have a question about when use American as a singular and when should I use it as plural. Could you mentions something In your lesson about singular and plural?
    I really appreciate your interest in my question,
    Sincerely,
    Regina

    1. Hello Regina,

      Thank you for the kind comment. I am glad that my online materials are helping you.

      As for the word “American,” it can be treated as a countable noun: one American, an American, many Americans, etc.
      I think to make a generic statement, it’s common to use the zero article before the plural noun: Americans still flock to movie theaters on weekends and holidays.
      Does that help?
      Please feel free to post your own examples, and I can comment.
      Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

