Storyline: A different kind of vocabulary activity

Click here to listen to this post.

I’ve been working with an advanced student for quite some time now. His vocabulary is quite impressive, but he sometimes fails to use the high-level words with the appropriate grammar. One activity I’ve started to use in our lessons makes use of a learner’s dictionary. I want to encourage his use of this resource because a learner’s dictionary offers collocations and good model sentences.

The basic idea is to make use of examples for two different key words taken directly from the dictionary and challenge the student to link those ideas into one narrative. I call the activity Storyline. I definitely see variations of this activity in the classroom. I’d love to hear how it works in group setting, so please take a look at my Storyline_handout and let me know how the students liked it!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. fatih says:

    thanks for your work. glad to see this blog. I’ll try this blog every time.

Leave a Reply

