Seeing is Believing: An oral reading activity in the present tense

In my private lessons with Natasha, I’ve finally begun to place more emphasis on reading. We are working with a textbook, and while I appreciate the convenience of ready-made materials, I still feel the need to design some original materials to practice specific skills that match her needs exactly at this moment. Natasha is mostly limited to the simple present and present progressive. She also has had limited exposure to English beyond the sentence level.

I decided to create an activity that goes beyond reading a text. I want her to feel a connection to the material, and I believe that can come from a sense of ownership. In my Seeing is Believing_handout the student must select sentences and sequence them in a logical order. She will construct her own description for a photo and then practice reading the text aloud, with proper pausing and intonation. I hope this activity works for your lower level students, too.

Leave a Reply

