Easier Said Than Done: Practice with comparative adjectives and adverbs

My beginner student will soon be studying comparative forms of adjectives and adverbs. I designed an activity that will review forms and test her ability to use the forms in context. The Easier Said Than Done_handout has been modified to meet the needs of a group class rather than a private lesson. I hope it works for those of you teaching lower levels. Enjoy!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. saratuca says:

    Thanks for the handout

  2. Devalon says:

    Hi Jeniffer!

    I like your videos and your work. I am from Slovakia and I study English and you have helped me a lot. I like your smile😀 it is cute. Please continue with your work – for students as I am it is very helpful. We are often watching your videos at lessons at our university. Greetings to America : ))))) Peter

    1. Thank you, Peter, for your support. It means a lot.
      Regards to you and everyone at your university!
      – Jennifer

      1. Devalon says:

        I like your lessons because you have realized how important for students is to get contact with language. For people who are born in English speaking country your lessons must be weird🙂. But they do not know how important is to hear phrases and normal sentences from native speaker mouth. For English people is normal to pronounce ,, he iz peter ,, but we the Slovaks always pronounce this sentence like ,, he is ,, with S. At todays lesson ,, introduction to study of english language ,, our teacher told this simple thing to us. And there are soooooo many ,, things ,, like that in English😀.

        Also your pronunciation is very good. You always try to pronounce words clearly and articulate. For me as a foreigner learner is this very important.

        As I told you, I study at university and guess what : ))))) Yes if things go OK I will be English teacher😀. Now I study the first semester/year

        I really must take a photo of our auditorium while our lesson with your video in progress ! ( we have these classes on mondays )

        Oh I have forgotten to tell you where I am from. I am from Slovakia. It is very small country ( 5 million people ) situated in the centre of Europe. The capital city is Bratislava. I live in town named Banská Bystrica ( i think you do not have á symbol in english – it is long a ) and there is the university I mentioned above. See? It is quite distance between america and slovakia🙂.

        I am really pleased that my response supported you. My opinion is, that people like you or I should support each other. Why I also mentioned ME?

        Well.. I am an author as you. I do not make videos, but I write articles. I am writing a book too🙂. I publish my work on WordPress. It is a pity that you can not to read it, because my whole work is written in Slovak language. But I write about positive thinking, emotions, psychology and how to love yourself. It is very important to be kind on yourself. For many people it is common to respect ,, themselves ,, but for many not. I know people who hate themselves, they can not forgive or they are very angry and they want to help with they personal problems. So I write articles for them, chat with them and many of them have changed and become happier and they started respect each other.

        When they send me email or response like ,, thank you peter or well done please continue with your work, it helps me ,, I have inspiration and I know that my work helps people and this is REASON why continue and make new and new articles! So thats why I can understand you about this🙂.

        I wrote this because I feel that your attitude to your work comes from your heart and you really like it🙂. So it is true and you have gained this support not only from me but from all your youtube anonymous studens who pushed LIKE button on your videos🙂. Do not forget it.🙂

        I write you in future if I will have some tough english problem😀. Now it is everything clear and the lesson about the production of speech sounds ( I mean vovels ) helped my on monday. I watched it and guess what. At thuesday I had unexpected exam from it😀. My mark is maybe C but I am very happy of it and I want to improve it at next exam.

        Uff long response from me.. sorry :D:D but as you can see I like it !
        Have a nice day🙂 Peter

  3. Devalon says:

    ,, we are often watching ,, sounds a little bit impolite. It should be ,, we always watch ,, Am I right? Sorry I am still in process of learning😀

    1. No apologies needed. The verb form isn’t impolite, just not the most accurate choice. You can say “often watch” or “always watch.” The key is to use the simple present because it’s an action that occurs with frequency, like a habit. I’m still very much a learner, too.🙂

Leave a Reply

