I’ll Be Home for Christmas: Language practice for basic level students

MC900436277_mistletoeAs December begins, I think of ways I wish to include the holiday celebrations in my teaching. The key to successfully doing that, of course, is to bear in mind your students’ backgrounds and their current language learning needs.

In the case of my beginner student, Natasha, I know that she celebrates both the American and Russian Christmas holidays. Because she’s in the U.S., I think it will be useful to expose her further to the music she’ll be hearing all around her, from the stores to the car radio. I’ve made suggestions for holiday music in the past. For Natasha, however, I carefully selected I’ll Be Home for Christmas because it’s short, simple, and at a slow tempo. It also makes use of the future with will, and that’s a grammar topic we need to cover. With this set of needs in mind, I offer the I’ll Be Home for Christmas_handout. I hope my ideas can be of use to some of you who are also teaching basic level students. Enjoy!

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

