Banding Together: Practice with the past perfect and past perfect progressive

Rock Band PerformingI’m just about ready to post the second part of my YouTube lesson on the past perfect and past perfect progressive. As I think about what form of additional practice we can offer advanced students, I find myself gravitating to an activity that is similar to the one in my video. The final exercise online has several items that form a narrative. Students must choose the correct verb forms to complete sentences. At this level, I feel students can only grasp the meaning and appropriacy of the verb forms if we go beyond isolated sentences. They must consider how the forms work within a reading or a conversation.

In my Banding Together_handout, students can work individually or with one another to sequence the lines from a story about a music band. The process should force them to consider what each verb form expresses, particularly the past perfect and past perfect progressive. However, we cannot have a story written entirely in the past perfect. Use of other verb forms is both necessary and natural. I hope the activity works well for you! Please let me know about any good ideas for modifying it.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

