Sixth Sense: Practice with linking verbs and adjectives

MP900405242In the effort to teach syntax with descriptive adjectives to my basic level student, I’ve come up with a way to encourage her discovery of the patterns. Natasha and I have talked about linking verbs before, and I hope that my Sixth Sense activity both reinforces and develops her understanding of the grammar. Please see my Sixth Sense_handout. Perhaps it will work for you, too. Enjoy!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Devalon says:

    Hi Jennifer

    All these days I have been looking for good explanation of future simple and future progressive. I have books from Longman, also notes from school etc.. but I still can not understand them. So I have realized that I really need help from native speaker. Please can you explain it to me?

    Problems:

    This is an exercise from one of Longman workbooks –

    1. The President will meet the Prime Minister before flying back home.

    2. The President will be meeting the Prime Minister before flying back home.

    It is said that in first sentence it is more definite and in second sentence that it is planned action.
    I would like to ask if this means that the action in sentence 1 is ,, more sure ,, than in sentence 2 ? Or not?

    I am not sure which one of these tenses more emphasize the future. Is there some rule? I hope I have written my questions clearly😀. Thanks

    1. I’ve been in similar quandaries when it comes to explaining grammar. That’s why I have a whole category called Student Stumpers! I look through my resources and talk to colleagues, and I continue to ponder the language points. I certainly don’t have all the answers, but I like discussing possible explanations.

      In my next lesson on Verb Tenses, I’ll cover the future with will and be going to. I plan to address the future progressive and future perfect in the subsequent lesson.

      Here are my thoughts about the future with will vs. the progressive form of will. Both of those examples sentences are correct, and neither one expresses more certainty. The difference is likely in register. “Will be meeting” is appropriate for a more formal context. The statement sounds more official. When we need more formality and or a greater degree of politeness, we can use the future progressive. Consider these questions.

      1. Will you attend the event, Professor?
      2. Will you be attending the event, Professor?

      Both are grammatically correct, but the second sounds more polite.
      More than one textbook will likely confirm this difference in register. Focus on Grammar, Level 4, Unit 5 is just one of them.

      Kind regards,
      Jennifer

      1. Devalon says:

        Thank you very much. Yes the second sounds more polite.

        I am looking forward to your next lesson🙂. It will be great.

        Oh I have forgotten. Happy new year 2013 .. maybe a little bit late wish but ..😀

        Peter

Leave a Reply

