12 Comments Add yours

  1. Mayra Sera Hernandez Ceballos says:

    Happy Hoildays! By Mayra Sera

    Wishing you the best of luck next year.

    I would like to thank you for so much you have done for all the teachers and learners all over the world.

    You deserve the term “online guru”. Yet I would say you are my inspiration to keep on going in this profession.

    I wish I could meet you one day in any of my visits to America.

    Christmas regards and Happy New Year dreams.

    Mayra Sera

    1. I am very happy to know I can support your teaching in some way. I wish you, your learners, and your family all the best in 2014.
      Happy New Year!

      Kindly,
      Jennifer

  2. sachin says:

    Thanks and enjoy holiday wish you happy new year in advance

    1. Happy New Year to you!🙂

  3. Manoel says:

    Thanks my teatcher same to you,kiss!

  4. Roberto says:

    Congratulations for your youtube videos, Jennifer!!!!!

  5. Roberto says:

    Jennifer, I am a teacher and a composer here in Brazil, and I have a doubt about the language, if you can help me, I will be grateful.
    My doubt is: is really necessary to put the subject pronoun “it” at the end and beginning of an informal conversation?
    For example: Was not enough to hold the pain inside. (without “it” at the beginning);
    I gave my heart for you, and you didn’t take. (without “it” at the end)
    And the last doubt: Which one is correct? No one came see my face or no one came to see my face. Please, help me breathe or please, help me to breathe.
    Because it is a verb following by another one.

    Thank you so much!!! And I loved your videos!
    Specially that about internet and text chat slang. Thanks again!

    1. Hello Roberto. Thank you for visiting my blog.

      Some verbs are transitive and always take an object. TAKE is a good example. If you say, “I didn’t take.” I would wonder what was it that you didn’t take. You must use an object after “take”: I gave my heart to you, but you didn’t take it. This is correct.

      When “it” is a subject, you can only leave it out when the subject is understood. In informal conversation, enough context allows us to speak in phrases rather than complete sentences.
      Example:
      A: She bit her tongue, didn’t she? Why didn’t that work?
      B: It wasn’t enough to hold the pain inside.

      Compare to this more informal exchange:
      A: Bit her tongue, you say?
      B: Uh-huh.
      A: It worked?
      B: Uh-uh. Not enough to hold the pain inside.

      Does that help?
      Regards!

      1. Roberto says:

        Hi, Jennifer!

        It helped me a lot!
        Now I got it. Thank you for your time, and keep doing the good work.

        Thank you very much!

  6. donataseu says:

    Thank you for all the hard work you are doing for us, ESL students.

    1. You are most welcome. Thank you for visiting my blog. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

