Hitting the Books: Learning Idioms about Books and Reading

"Books" by Chris (shutterhacks)It’s been a while since I’ve posted materials on idioms. The interest in conversational expressions remains strong among online learners, however, so I recently decided to pick up the camera and talk about idioms and sayings related to books.

This time around, I changed my approach in teaching this kind of vocabulary. In the past I limited my video lessons to three expression to allow time for adequate practice. Now I plan to take advantage of other platforms and formats, so additional practice can be found on my website in the form of an interactive exercise. Also, for those in the classroom, a reading-based activity will allow review and expansion. Please see my Hitting the Books_handout. With these additional opportunities for study, I felt it was possible to increase the number of target expressions to seven. I hope both students and teachers will enjoy hitting the books with these materials!

 

Photo credit:

“Books” by Chris (shutterhacks). Retrieved from the Creative Commons on Flickr.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

