Learning Phrasal Verbs: What You Need to Go Over

I try never to ask more of others than I do of myself. Creating a 20-day phrasal verb challenge is putting my stamina as a content creator to the test. I’m inviting learners to follow a series of short lessons for twenty days. That means I have to come up with a daily lesson for twenty days straight. We’re at Day 14 now. I’ll be relieved when I get to the homestretch.

Learners are doing a great job keeping pace, and a good number are creating their own examples or using the phrasal verbs in their comments. I can’t stress enough the need for multiple encounters and practice with feedback. I’m also placing strong emphasis on review, and in each lesson we go over meanings and forms. I think some students make the mistake of just learning the meanings, but then they struggle to use phrasal verbs correctly because they didn’t study forms or common contexts.

To help with the first half of my list, I already offered my Brushing Up_handout. Now for those who wish to cover the second half of the list with their students, here’s a similar activity: Going Over Phrasal Verbs_handout.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Valter says:

    Do you have any sample of authentic text (magazine/newspaper articles) that contains at least 10 phrasal verbs?
    Thank you in advance.
    Cheers
    Valter

    1. Hi Valter,

      Nice challenge! You can easily find news articles with at least several phrasal verbs, but 10? Those are harder to come by. Business, economics, sports, and popular entertainment tend to delivery the most instances. After a few minutes of scanning current articles on NPR, I found this one with half a dozen phrasal verbs. http://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way/2016/01/25/464329342/hey-lets-vote-on-your-best-suggestions-on-what-to-name-planet-nine
      6 Phrasal verbs:
      We’re just circling back to
      our whip-smart audience, put forward on what we should name “Planet Nine.”
      we got ahead of ourselves
      You all really came through with a list of great names
      meaning conceal, heaven, keep secret, be silent, cover, hide, keep back
      You can’t break up a set.

      1. Valter says:

        Hi Jennifer,
        thank you very much for your fast reply.
        Actually, I am planning a one to one lesson and I wanted to use an authentic text to introduce phrasal verbs.
        Cheers
        Valter

      2. You might have more luck creating your own examples to target the phrasal verbs you want. You can also look at an advanced ESL textbook. They usually include a reading with a good number of phrasal verbs. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

