Chances Are: Practice with “That” Clauses

I’m taking on the topic of noun clauses with a private student. I plan to cover embedded questions, but first I want to work with that clauses. Those are the first kind of noun clauses students likely understand and produce. Even high beginners can start making statements with “I think (that)….” By the time learners reach the intermediate level, they easily understand many more that clauses in context, especially with reported speech (She said that…), direct objects (I know that…), and even adjectives (I’m happy that…).

Context is always key, so in my Chances Are_handout I focus on the topic of life dreams. It’s an easy topic to use for speaking or writing activities should you wish to connect my exercises to other activities of yours. I had upper level students in mind for this handout. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

