TESOL 2017: Seattle Here I Come!

Are any of you heading to Seattle for the TESOL convention? It’s an exciting time of the year. I enjoy seeing old colleagues and meeting new ones. The annual convention is a chance to hear about current trends, learn new tips and tools, and discover what projects everyone is engaged in.

I have two presentations this year. Here’s my schedule:

Wednesday, March 22 from 2:00-2:45 PM in the Metropolitan B Room at the Sheraton — I’ll be co-presenting with Linda Butler. We’ll lead a discussion on “Becoming a Materials Writer in the Digital Age.” Hear how we became materials writers, working in both print and digital media, and, more importantly, gain tips on writing ESOL teaching materials in 2017. We’ll eagerly welcome contributions from veterans and answer questions from newcomers.

Friday, March 24 from 1:00-2:45 PM in Room 617 at the Convention Center — I’ll be joining the VDMIS panel on “Enrich, Engage, and Empower Using YouTube.” My segment will focus on how to create a positive and productive learning experience for YT viewers. Other segments will address what kinds of videos you can make and how to get students involved in video making.

I’ll also be participating in all MWIS events, so you’ll be sure to find me at the business meeting and the social event. If you ever see me busily working on my laptop between sessions, don’t hesitate to stop by and say hi! I also welcome lunch companions in the often crowded food courts.

For those of you who cannot attend, I’ll do my best as in years past to share summaries of sessions I attend.

I’m flying off to Washington soon, so my next post will likely be from a different time zone.

Kind regards to all,

Jennifer

Photo credit: Seattle, Mount Rainier, Washington by Juli Watson. Retrieved from the Public Domain at https://pixabay.com/en/seattle-mount-rainier-washington-811754/

 

Leave a Reply

