Naming Names: A pair activity to practice yes-no questions with beginners

I’ve shared activities in the past to practice question formation. However, I’d like to offer one more in case you have a group of beginners who are still limited to the simple present tense. Please view my Naming Names_handout. You may find that the activity is similar to games you’ve either heard about or played before. The idea is simple. It’s a guessing game to discover who the mystery person is. Hopefully, this handout will prove to be a time-saver for you. Enjoy and recycle it as many times as you can!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Harvey says:

    This is great! I’ve always wanted to “Guess Who?” in the classroom without having to buy the board game. Thanks!

    1. Well, you can still use the board game to really focus on physical appearance, but it still has the feel of a children’s game. In contrast, the handout I created has the older learner in mind. Either way, enjoy!

    1. Hello! I think your post got cut off somehow. Would you like to retry?

      1. gedon16 says:

        I had learned english for 12 years in the shcool but I can’t speak english well,could you helm me for Improve my english ?

      2. Yes, please visit my website. Look under English Students. Read my Study Tips. Look at the Useful Links and Resources page. Also, you can post questions on my community forum. See you there!

        Regards,
        Jennifer

  2. Ksenia says:

    I ‘ve watched the video and tried to use the information on my lesson. My student, 34 year old beginner, was excited. She was happy she can ask and answer questions. She works at the hotel and really needs good speaking skills, but she is afraid to speak to foreigners. This made her more confident. At the end of the lesson we played the game, it was more difficult for her, but she enjoyed it as well.

    1. Thank you for writing, Ksenia. I played the game with Natasha. First, I asked the questions to guess her mystery person. Then she asked me. I had to correct and prompt at times especially with the pronouns he and she and agreement with the helping verbs, but communication was successful. I really like that she had to keep scanning the information in English to ask and answer questions. One challenge is to get her thinking more and more in English. I left copies of the handouts with her and encouraged her to play again with her elder daughter.

  3. Turki says:

    Hi MS: Jennifer
    My name is Turki I’m from Saudi Arabia
    Is my pleasure to meet you.
    Am Very happy to enjoy with your website
    thank you for your video about the Question with Be
    I now understand after this video..

    1. Feel free to join the forum on my website to discuss language points more in detail.
      Regards!

Leave a comment