However Did We Manage?

However did I go so long without teaching the combination of wh- words with -ever? Words like whatever and whichever aren’t always included in textbooks, and I haven’t been asked about them much. I’ve likely explained them in passing, for example, when a learner sees them in context and asks for clarification. Well, I took note of a YouTube viewer’s question some time ago, and I recently decided it’s high time to address these words head-on. I’m preparing a series of short video explanations, and in advance, I’d like to share a set of classroom slides teachers can use as a pre- or post-lesson quiz.

Of course, the true test will be putting the words into real use. For that, you may prepare a set of question prompts. Here are a few ideas:
1. Name a hobby you have. How often do you do it? [whenever]
2. How do you like to spend time with friends? [whatever]
3. What are some of the best places to take a vacation [wherever]

Image by Tumisu from Pixabay

Leave a comment