The Impact of a TESOL Convention

I’m still running from conference room to conference room (and sometimes from the TCC to the Marriott). It’s the last day of TESOL 2024. I wish there were three of me so that I could attend all the sessions I’m interested in, but sadly I have to make my final selections. I’m happy to say that even at this point I have plenty of takeaway. Just as important, I’ve connected with old and new colleagues. I’ve had some planned meetings and a whole bunch of unplanned conversations as well. Finding out where other people teach, who they teach, and what particular challenges they face strengthens my understanding of what our field looks like today. That’s invaluable.

I’ve been taking notes and photos. I’m armed with plenty of files from QR codes, and I look forward to sharing TESOL 2024 highlights with you in the near future. Happy teaching!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Arun Goyal says:

    Thanks Jen for the updates on the run. You are not out of breath! Stay hydrated, always.

    We look forward to your reporting, specially your piece on teaching through Instagram. … Cheers and tc

    1. Yes, my feet hurt a little. I can’t wear sneakers, and there’s a lot of walking at conventions. I’m staying hydrated. 🙂 Today I finally fly back home. Take care.

Leave a comment